Screening checks

Screening checks help to ensure that people with a known history of violent or abusive behaviour do not work with children and other vulnerable people in their job or as a volunteer. Sometimes screening is required by law, but in other cases an employer or organisation may decide it's necessary.

Screening checks assess additional information that would not be detected through a standard police check.

Find out what type of check you need - Department of Human Services

Types of check

There are five types of screening check:

  • child related employment or working with children
  • disability services employment
  • aged care sector employment
  • vulnerable person related employment
  • general employment probity.

More about the different types of screening check - Department of Human Services

How to apply

Applications are usually started by an employer or an organisation. Applicants then receive an email or form with instructions for completing their part of the process.

Apply on the Department of Human Services website

What happens next

Clearance is usually provided within 30 business days. The time it takes depends on the amount and type of information that needs to be checked. Checks can sometimes take longer than eight weeks.

A screening check is valid for three years. You can present your clearance letter at multiple organisations during that time. Applicants for general employment probity screening will not receive a letter as these checks are role-specific and are not portable.

Check the progress of your application


If a current check needs to be renewed, applications should be lodged between three and six months before the expiry date. Simply use the application process outlined above.

Related information

    Other websites

    Was this page useful?

    Take a moment to tell us why.

    If you need a response, send an enquiry instead.

    Page last updated 15 July 2019

    Provided by:
    Department of Human Services
    Last Updated:
    Printed on:
    Copyright statement:
    SA.GOV.AU is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 Licence. © Copyright 2019