Get the most recent information on South Australia's response to the Coronavirus pandemic.

Ferry locations and operational status

Operational status

Ferry service operates 24 hours per day, 7 days a week at each location unless a temporary closure is in place. There is no charge for the public to use the service.

Above lock 1

Ferry locations

Operational status

Temporary closures

Alternative crossing


Fully operational


Upstream - Paringa bridge
Downstream - Berri bridge


Fully operational


Upstream: Kingston bridge
Downstream: Cadell ferry


Fully operational


Upstream - Waikerie ferry
Downstream - Morgan ferry


Fully operational


Upstream - Cadell ferry
Downstream - Blanchetown bridge

Below lock 1

Ferry locations

Operational status

Temporary closures

Alternative crossing

Swan Reach

Fully operational

There will be a temporary closure of the Swan Reach Ferry service from 10am to 2pm on Wednesday, 1 July (weather permitting).

The disruption is to replace upstream and downstream cables, as per the Cable Replacement program.

Upstream - Blanchetown bridge
Downstream - Walker Flat ferry

Tailem Bend Ferry

Fully operational

 Upstream: Swanport bridge
Downstream: Wellington ferry
Wellington FerryFully operational Upstream: Tailem Bend ferry
Downstream: Narrung ferry (for access to the Narrung Peninsula only)
Narrung FerryFully operational 

Meningie township

Walker Flat

Fully operational


Upstream - Swan Reach ferry
Downstream - Purnong ferry


Fully operational


Upstream - Walker Flat ferry
Downstream - Mannum downstream ferry

Mannum #1 downstream

Fully operational


Mannum #2 upstream ferry

Mannum #2 upstream

Fully operational

 Alternative crossings will be at the Mannum #1 downstream ferry

River Murray ferry locations map

Contact numbers for ferries

For information on Ferry Services, phone 8260 0063 between 9.00 am and 4.30 pm Monday to Friday (except public holidays) or email

Ferry crossingFerry location phone numbersFerry location mobile phone
Purnong8570 42740484 704 274
Cadell8540 32030447 678 159
Lyrup8583 82780439 461 401
Mannum8569 18390457 691 839
Morgan8540 21970439 510 259
Narrung8574 00280458 740 028
Swan Reach8570 20620459 552 062
Tailem Bend8572 38800488 723 880
Waikerie8541 42870439 415 849
Walker Flat8570 81890488 608 189
Wellington8572 70770476 542 077

Was this page useful?

Page last updated 5 October 2018

Provided by:
Department of Planning, Transport and Infrastructure
Last Updated:
Printed on:
Copyright statement:
SA.GOV.AU is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 Licence. © Copyright 2020