Qualifications and what they mean

Qualifications issued by registered training organisations, universities and other tertiary institutions in Australia are regulated through the Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF).

For professional, vocational and other educational qualifications to be recognised in Australia, they must be listed in the AQF.

Australian Qualifications Framework

This table contains the qualifications listed in the AQF that are recognised throughout Australia.

Level Vocational Education and Training Higher education
10   Doctoral degree
9   Masters degree
8 Graduate Diploma Graduate Diploma
8 Graduate Certificate Graduate Certificate, Honours Degree
7   Bachelor Degree
6 Advanced Diploma Associate Degree, Advanced Diploma
5 Diploma Diploma
4 Certificate IV  
3 Certificate III  
2 Certificate II  
1 Certificate I  

Assessment of overseas qualifications

If you are a newly arrived skilled migrant, Skills for All can help you ge recognition of overseas qualifications to work in your area of expertise in South Australia. If you would like to study in Australia, contact the education institution where you wish to study. The education institution, such as a university, higher education provider or registered training organisation, assesses overseas qualifications for admission to study.

Related information

Other websites

Was this page useful?

Page last updated 29 November 2016

Provided by:
Department for Education
Last Updated:
Printed on:
Copyright statement:
SA.GOV.AU is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 Licence. © Copyright 2021