Accident towing rosters

Tow trucks are dispatched to road crashes in greater metropolitan Adelaide through the accident towing roster scheme. About 12,000 vehicles are towed from crashes in the area each year.

To drive a tow truck in greater metropolitan Adelaide you must hold a tow truck certificate.

How the roster works

When a member of the public calls the operator on 8116 9209 the operator requests the next available tow truck on the roster to attend the scene of the accident. The operator cannot choose which tow truck service will attend.

How to register with the accident towing roster scheme

Tow truck operators can ask to be included on the roster by calling the Accident Towing and Investigations Unit on 8260 0572.

Where the scheme operates

Greater metropolitan Adelaide is divided into 15 general zones (for passenger and other vehicles weighing up to 2,500 kgs) and one heavy vehicle zone (vehicles weighing in excess of 2,500 kgs). Each zone is allocated registered operators.

The boundaries of the area are:

  • north – near the Gawler Bypass and Main North Road overpass
  • south west – Cactus Canyon and the coast
  • south – Pages Flat Road, Yankalilla
  • east – the Onkaparinga River, Mount Bold and Kangaroo Creek reservoirs.

Related information

On this site

Calling a tow truck


Accident Towing and Investigations
Department for Infrastructure and Transport
Phone - 8260 0572

Was this page useful?

Thanks for contributing - your feedback helps us improve this website.

Page last updated 2 July 2019

Provided by:
Department for Infrastructure and Transport
Last Updated:
Printed on:
Copyright statement:
SA.GOV.AU is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 Licence. © Copyright 2023