Plans for regional South Australia

The South Australian Planning Strategy includes plans for seven regional areas of the state, as well as The 30-Year Plan for Greater Adelaide.

Eyre and Western

The Eyre and Western Region Plan (3.6 MB PDF) was published in April 2012. It covers eleven council areas:

  • City of Port Lincoln
  • City of Whyalla
  • District Council of Ceduna
  • District Council of Cleve
  • District Council of Elliston
  • District Council of Franklin Harbour
  • District Council of Kimba
  • District Council of Lower Eyre Peninsula
  • District Council of Streaky Bay
  • District Council of Tumby Bay
  • Wudinna District Council.

Far North

The Far North Region Plan (3.6 MB PDF) was published in July 2010 and covers four council areas:

  • Port Augusta City Council
  • District Council of Coober Pedy
  • Flinders Ranges Council
  • Roxby Downs Council.

It also covers the region's unincorporated (out of council) areas, which are administered by the Outback Communities Authority.

Kangaroo Island

The Kangaroo Island Plan (2.8 MB PDF) was published in January 2011. It should be read in conjunction with an addendum (2.8 MB PDF) that resulted from an amendment to align the plan with priorities identified by the Kangaroo Island Futures Authority.

The plan covers the Kangaroo Island Council.

Limestone Coast

The Limestone Coast Region Plan (5.9 MB PDF) was published in August 2011 and covers seven council areas:

  • Tatiara District Council
  • Kingston District Council
  • Naracoorte Lucindale Council
  • District Council of Robe
  • Wattle Range Council
  • City of Mount Gambier
  • District Council of Grant.

Mid North

The Mid North Region Plan (5.9 MB PDF) was published in May 2011 and covers seven council areas:

  • Clare and Gilbert Valleys Council
  • District Council of Mount Remarkable
  • District Council of Orroroo Carrieton
  • District Council of Peterborough
  • Northern Areas Council
  • Port Pirie Regional Council
  • Regional Council of Goyder.

The Mid North region plan will be combined with the Yorke Peninsula regional land use framework to form in one volume in 2014.

Murray and Mallee

The Murray and Mallee Region Plan (3.7 MB PDF) was published in January 2011. It should be read conjunction with an addendum (3.3 MB PDF) that resulted from an amendment to recognise the special character of the Barossa Valley and McLaren Vale.

It covers eight council areas:

  • Renmark Paringa Council
  • District Council of Loxton Waikerie
  • Berri Barmera Council
  • Mid Murray Council
  • Rural City of Murray Bridge
  • District Council of Karoonda East Murray
  • Southern Mallee District Council
  • Coorong District Council.

Yorke Peninsula

The Yorke Peninsula Regional Land Use Framework (1.3 MB PDF) was published in December 2007 and covers the Yorke Peninsula and Wakefield Plains, which encompass four council areas:

  • District Council of Barunga West
  • District Council of Yorke Peninsula
  • District Council of the Copper Coast
  • Wakefield Regional Council.

The Yorke Peninsula Regional Land Use Framework will be combined with the Mid North Region Plan to form one volume in 2014.

Purpose of the region plans

The region plans contain the state government's directions on land use and development, including policies related to:

  • population growth and demographic changes
  • supply of land for housing and employment
  • preservation of agricultural lands
  • water and energy efficiency
  • preservation of biodiversity and the natural environment
  • protection of the heritage and character of regional communities.

The policies help state and local government agencies plan and coordinate the provision of services and infrastructure such as:

  • transport
  • health
  • schools
  • aged care and community facilities.

The plans are developed by the state government in collaboration with councils and regional development and natural resources management bodies, and in consultation with the public.

The state government is required to:

  • prepare an annual report card on all the plans in the planning strategy
  • review and update all the plans at least once every five years from the date of publication.

Councils must review and amend their development plans to ensure they are consistent with the plan for their region.

Plans for regional centres

The planning strategy also includes plans for these major regional centres:

For an alternative version of a document on this page see Planning contacts.

Related information

On this site

Was this page useful?

Page last updated 18 August 2020

Provided by:
Attorney-General's Department - PLUS
Last Updated:
Printed on:
Copyright statement:
SA.GOV.AU is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 Licence. © Copyright 2021