In South Australia, 39 councils have designated bushfire protection areas within their council boundaries.

The bushfire protection areas are subject to bushfire related planning and building requirements. These requirements are dependent on the level of bushfire risk determined for the site.

Maps showing the areas and level of risk can be found in council development plans, Location SA Map Viewer or South Australian Property and Planning Atlas (SAPPA).

Development plans with bushfire protection areas

Eyre Peninsula councils

South East councils

Yorke Peninsula councils

Yorke Peninsula Council

Kangaroo Island councils

Kangaroo Island Council

Mid-north councils

Riverland councils

Murray Bridge

Murray Bridge Council

Mt Lofty Ranges

Metropolitan councils

Out of council areas

Land not within a council area (coastal waters).

Related information


For an alternative version of these documents contact the Planning contacts - Assessment of development proposals.


Development Act 1993 Development Regulations 2008

Was this page useful?

Page last updated 18 August 2020

Provided by:
Attorney-General's Department
Last Updated:
Printed on:
Copyright statement:
SA.GOV.AU is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 Licence. © Copyright 2021