Types of development that are valid for streamlined processes

The residential development code

The residential development code was introduced in 2009 to create faster, cheaper and simpler building approvals for home construction and renovation. It was established under Schedule 4 of the Development Regulations 2008.

The code sets out tick-box assessment criteria known as performance controls to cover issues such as:

  • location
  • height
  • setback
  • site coverage.

If a development proposal meets all the criteria, it will be approved within 10 days.

Valid types of development

An approval can be obtained for the following:

  • carport
  • veranda
  • garage
  • single storey dwelling addition
  • other minor structures.

Some new dwellings may be assessed against the Residential Development Code. Check your council's map of areas where streamlined processes apply.

Visit PlanSA portal to find out about new planning system that will be in operation from July 2020.

Related information

On this site


Other websites


Development Regulations 2008


Planning contacts

Was this page useful?

Page last updated 18 August 2020

Provided by:
Attorney-General's Department - PLUS
Last Updated:
Printed on:
Copyright statement:
SA.GOV.AU is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 Licence. © Copyright 2021