Institutional (St Andrew's) amendment

Current status

The Institutional (St Andrew's) Development Plan Amendment (DPA) - (1.2 MB PDF) was approved by the Minister for Planning by notice in the South Australian Government Gazette on 31 July 2014.

Purpose of the amendment

The DPA will establish a new institutional zone on a section of land on South Terrace, including the St Andrew's Hospital site, in place of the current Residential (Waverly) Zone.

The proposed new zone aims to support this important medical precinct by:

  • introducing policy that allows a mix of land uses such as commercial offices, medical consulting rooms and associated uses, as well as small-scale shops and restaurants
  • introducing policy that allows some residential development up to four storeys
  • retaining existing policies that allow more intensive development on catalyst sites over 1500 square metres along South Terrace.

Area affected by the amendment

The DPA affects an area of land fronting South Terrace between Hutt Street and St John Lane, which is shown as the St Andrew's Medical Precinct in the Adelaide (City) Development Plan.

The community information sheet - (510.1 KB PDF) includes a map of the site.

Consultation process

Consultation on Ministerial DPAs is conducted by the Development Policy Advisory Committee (DPAC), an independent statutory committee which provides advice to the Minister for Planning.

Public consultation on the amendment closed on 21 November 2013. A public meeting was held on 12 December 2013.

Related information

On this site

About development plans


Guide to development plans and development plan amendments - (660.2 KB PDF)

For an alternative version of any document on this page Planning contacts - Development plans and amendments.


Planning contacts - Development plans and amendments

Was this page useful?

Take a moment to tell us why.

If you need a response, send an enquiry instead.

Page last updated 16 March 2018

Provided by:
Department of Planning, Transport and Infrastructure
Last Updated:
Printed on:
Copyright statement:
SA.GOV.AU is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 Licence. © Copyright 2019