State laws govern the naming of places in South Australia.

A place is any:

  • area
  • region
  • locality
  • city
  • suburb
  • town
  • township or settlement
  • geographical or topographical feature.

It includes:

  • railway station
  • hospital
  • school
  • other place or building that is, or is likely to be, of public or historical interest.

Page last updated 1 June 2022

Provided by:
Government of South Australia
Last Updated:
Printed on:
Copyright statement:
SA.GOV.AU is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 Licence. © Copyright 2023