Get the most recent information on South Australia's response to the Coronavirus pandemic.

Hot weather policy

While most schools and preschool centres in South Australia have air conditioning, they also have a hot weather policy. Early dismissal for hot weather is determined at the local level

Students may be dismissed:

  • at 12.30 pm on days when the forecast maximum is 38°C or higher, or
  • up to one hour before normal dismissal time when the estimated maximum temperature is to be at least 36°C.

The policy takes into account factors which include location, building design and whether or not the school is equipped with air conditioning.

The early dismissal of students, in accordance with the school's hot weather policy, will be subject to parents having given the school written permission, renewable annually, for their children to be dismissed early. Students who do not have written permission from their parents must be adequately supervised at the school.

Arrangements must comply with a school policy, determined in consultation with the governing/school council, endorsed by the Education Director and conveyed, in writing, to parents at least once annually.

The hot weather policy may also include:

  • modified activities
  • cancellation of after school sport training sessions
  • cancellation of weekend school sport matches.

Staff remain on duty on days of early dismissal.

Sun smart policy

To minimise the danger of ultraviolet radiation exposure for children, schools and preschool centres are encouraged to have a sun smart policy that:

  • encourages students to play in shaded areas
  • requires students to wear sunscreen
  • requires students to wear appropriate sun protective clothing and broad-brimmed hats - no hat, no play.

The policy is usually supported through a combination of classroom programs that complement the health and physical education curriculum.

Ask your school or centre for information about their policies.

Related information

Other websites

Was this page useful?

Page last updated 10 February 2017

Provided by:
Department for Education
Last Updated:
Printed on:
Copyright statement:
SA.GOV.AU is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 Licence. © Copyright 2020