Get the most recent information on South Australia's response to the Coronavirus pandemic.

Standards for disability and HACC service providers

Different service standards apply to disability service providers depending on the type of funding they receive.

Disability service providers

Providers funded by Disability SA for disability services must meet the National Standards for Disability Services.

The standards focus on person-centred approaches, and promote choice and control by people with disability.

There are six standards:

  • rights
  • participation and inclusion
  • individual outcomes
  • feedback and complaints
  • service access
  • service management.

The Department of Social Services has developed resources to assist providers to apply the standards within their service and to promote the standards to staff, people with disability and their families.

National Standards for Disability Services information and resources - Australian Government Department of Social Services

Home and Community Care providers

South Australian Home and Community Care (HACC) funded providers must meet the Home Care Standards (previously known as the Community Care Common Standards).

The standards apply to:

  • the South Australian HACC Program and Commonwealth HACC Program
  • packaged care programs (Community Aged Care packages (CACP), Extended Aged Care at Home (EACH) and Extended Aged Care at Home Dementia (EACH-D)
  • the National Respite for Carers Program (NRCP).


Contracting and Sector Liaison Unit
Disability SA
Phone 8415 4250

Related information

On this site

Quality requirements for disability service providers

Was this page useful?

Page last updated 30 July 2018

Provided by:
Department of Human Services
Last Updated:
Printed on:
Copyright statement:
SA.GOV.AU is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 Licence. © Copyright 2020