A person must hold a blaster's licence to perform blasting activities in South Australia.

Who should apply

Any person who wants to perform blasting activities in quarrying, mining or petroleum exploration - including underground - must be licensed, including trainee blasters.

The employer or the person conducting the business or undertaking (PCBU) must ensure the licence applicant is a fit and proper person and competent in the use of explosives in blasting operations at their site.


A person commencing training in the use of explosives must first obtain a blaster's licence. A condition of 'trainee under direct supervision' will apply to the licence.

The employer or the PCBU is responsible for the training and direct supervision of the trainee.

When the trainee is deemed competent by the employer or the PCBU, an application for a variation to the licence must be submitted to SafeWork SA. If approved, a blaster's licence will be issued with the condition removed.

Before you begin

Applicants must be a minimum of 18 years of age and understand the English language.

All applications for a South Australian blaster's licence or renewal must include a current national police clearance certificate, not more than three months old at the time of application. The certificate can be obtained from a police station for a fee.

How to apply

1. Application form

Blaster's licence application form - complete the form, then print, sign and date it.

2. Lodgement

Lodge the signed application with SafeWork SA, along with the specified fee and any supporting documents indicated in your application.

Lodgement details are contained in the application form.

Fee $79.50 (from 1 July 2020 to 30 June 2021)


Licences are issued for three years. Renewal tax invoices are issued 30 days before the expiry date. Supporting documentation must be provided with full payment.

Related information


SafeWork SA help centre

Was this page useful?

Page last updated 30 June 2020

Provided by:
Department of Treasury and Finance
Last Updated:
Printed on:
Copyright statement:
SA.GOV.AU is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 Licence. © Copyright 2020