Seafood food safety accreditation

Food safety programs aim to lower the incidence of food-borne illness in the primary industry sectors.

Who should apply

A holder of an aquaculture or fisheries license authorising the farming or taking of shellfish (bivalve molluscs) for human consumption must be accredited under the food safety scheme for seafood.

Bivalve molluscs include oysters, mussels, scallops, cockles and pipis.

How to apply

1. Application form

Complete, sign and date the form - Application for seafood safety accreditation.

2. Lodgement

Lodge the application with Department of Primary Industries and Regions SA (PIRSA), along with the specified fees and any supporting documents indicated in your application.

Fees and lodgement address are contained in the application form.

Obtaining accreditation

To obtain accreditation, producers must have an approved food safety arrangement. They must:

  • only source product from government-classified and monitored waters
  • have an approved food safety program
  • have the food safety program audited by an approved auditor at the specified frequency
  • comply with the relevant sections of the Food Standards Code, including the seafood standard - 4.2.1.

South Australian Shellfish Quality Assurance Program - PIRSA


Accreditation is ongoing with payment of the annual fee.


Food Safety Program - PIRSA
GPO Box 1671
Adelaide SA 5001

Phone: 8429 4393

Was this page useful?

Thanks for contributing - your feedback helps us improve this website.

Page last updated 17 May 2022

Provided by:
Department of Primary Industries and Regions
Last Updated:
Printed on:
Copyright statement:
SA.GOV.AU is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 Licence. © Copyright 2023