The 30 year plan for Greater Adelaide 2016 Update

The state government's vision for the growth and development of this most populated part of South Australia to 2036 is set out in The 30-Year Plan for Greater Adelaide.

Greater Adelaide is made up of seven administrative regions and 27 councils, as well as the regional city of Murray Bridge. It is bordered by Victor Harbor and Goolwa in the south, the Barossa Valley in the north, the Gulf of St Vincent in the west, and the River Murray in the east.

The plan prepares for steady population growth of 545,000 people, and the construction of 248,000 additional dwellings. It outlines where people will live, where jobs will be located and where future transport and other infrastructure will be provided. It also describes how the city's history, character and environmental heritage can be protected and how the risks and potential effects of climate change can be managed.

The Draft 2016 Update is now out for public consultation until 21 October 2016. Visit Living Adelaide for more information and have your say.

Barossa Valley and McLaren Valley Character Preservation Addendum

An amendment to the South Australian Planning Strategy to recognise the special character of the Barossa Valley and McLaren Vale was approved by the state government.

This resulted in an addendum 3.3 MB to the strategy that should be read in conjunction with The 30-Year Plan for Greater Adelaide, as well as the Murray and Mallee Region plan 3.7 MB.

The addendum contains policy directions intended to preserve the character of the Barossa Valley and McLaren Vale districts by enabling continuing primary production and related activities, including tourism, while avoiding further encroachment by urban sprawl.

The development plans affected will be updated to align with the policy changes.

Related information

On this site

The planning strategy for South Australia


Planning contacts

Page feedback

Was this page useful?
What did you like about it?
How can we make it better?

We cannot respond to any comment made here. If you need a response, please use our contact page.

You can also help us improve the website by completing a short survey.

Page last updated: 6 September 2016