Funding and regulation

Community housing legislation

National Regulatory System

The National Regulatory System (NRS) is a national approach to a consistent regulatory system for all community housing providers in Australia.

The NRS was phased in for community housing providers from 1 July 2013. The core objectives are to:

  • provide consistent regulation that supports the growth and development of the community housing sector
  • provide the finance sector with the confidence to invest in community housing
  • reduce the regulatory burden for community housing organisations working across jurisdictions
  • provide a level playing field for providers seeking to enter new jurisdictions.

South Australian legislation

The Community Housing Providers (National Law) (South Australia) Act 2013 was passed on 12 November 2013. The Act was developed in partnership with the community housing sector and included extensive public consultation.

The Act's purpose is to govern the funding of community housing and introduce the NRS in South Australia. It will:

  • replace the South Australian Cooperative and Community Housing Act 1991 (SACCH Act)
  • strengthen the sector's ability to demonstrate professionalism and capacity to participate in a national market
  • establish mechanisms for community housing provider funding, and
  • introduce the NRS to South Australia.

Transitional arrangements were in place until 1 April 2014, at which point the SACCH Act ceased to exist and the new Act commenced in full.

Regulation and funding

The Office of Housing Regulation is responsible for monitoring the compliance of community housing providers with the Community Hosing Providers (National Law) (South Australia) Act 2013 which repealed the South Australian Co-operative and Community Housing Act 1991.

Renewal SA is responsible for funding, policies and industry development to support the community housing sector.

Was this page useful?

Take a moment to tell us why. If you need a response send an enquiry instead.

Page last updated 29 November 2016

Provided by:
Department for Communities and Social Inclusion
Last Updated:
Printed on:
Copyright statement:
SA.GOV.AU is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia Licence. © Copyright 2016