For service providers

Transitional housing

The Transitional Housing Program (THP) is run by community housing providers. They manage accommodation for people who need a period of transitional housing, linked with specific transitional support services.

The THP is a partnership between Housing SA, Community Housing Providers and Specialist Homelessness Services (SHS).

The properties

Public housing properties across the state are leased to community housing providers for the THP. National Affordable Housing Agreement (NAHA)  provides funding for the integrated housing and support services for people who are homeless or at risk of becoming homeless.

Renting to clients through the program


Any person who is currently or at risk of becoming homeless can be considered for this program by referral through an SHS.

Only registered community housing providers who have been through a selection process are eligible to lease public housing properties through the THP.


Clients housed under this program can be charged rent of up to 30% of their income plus 100% of any Commonwealth Rent Assistance that they may receive.

If a client doesn't have an income they are still eligible for this program.  The SHS must help the client access an income - eg from Centrelink.

All rent details must be recorded in the H2H client and case management system.


Any maintenance needed for THP properties should be reported to the community housing provider.  The community housing provider is responsible for:

  • vacancy and maintenance management, consistent with the Housing SA accommodation standards and associated costs
  • all property related costs.

Housing SA retains responsibility for all planned, programmed and capital maintenance, and all disability modifications.

Related information


Transitional Housing Program procedure  (587.3 KB PDF)

For an alternative version of these documents contact Renewal SA

Was this page useful?

Take a moment to tell us why. If you need a response send an enquiry instead.

Page last updated 30 November 2016

Provided by:
Department for Communities and Social Inclusion
Last Updated:
Printed on:
Copyright statement:
SA.GOV.AU is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia Licence. © Copyright 2016