Fees and concessions

Driver's licence and permit fees

Effective from 1 July 2016.

Driver's licence and learner's permit Concession Fee
Driver's licence issue or renewal per year plus an administration fee of $17.00 (1 to 10 year licences available) $21.00
Provisional driver's licence first issue (issued for 3 years and includes a $17.00 administration fee) $80.00 $143.00
Learner's permit first issue (only issued for 24 months)   $59.00
Learner's permit renewal (9 months)   $32.00
Rider Safe learner's permit (only issued for 24 months)  
Administration fee for issue or renewal of driver's or provisional licence
Administration fee for expired licences
An additional fee is payable if you are applying for a driver's licence more than six months after your old licence has expired (payable in addition to the licence fee)
Duplicate or replacement driver's licence$17.00
Learner's theory test$34.00
The Driver's Handbook publication$10.00
Hazard perception test$29.00
Proof of age card Fee
Proof of age card - issue or replacement $22.00
Rider Safe motorcycle training course and permitFee
Level one, basic $351.00
Level two, advanced $312.00
Rider Safe learner's permit (only issued for 24 months) $59.00
Disabled persons parking permit Fees
One year or temporary permit $10.00
Five years $20.00


For general registration or licensing queries or questions about other services provided by Service SA, email ServiceSA@sa.gov.au. We will respond to your enquiry within five business days.


Telephone assistance is available Monday to Friday - local call charges apply:

  • registration and driver's licences - phone 13 10 84 (8.00 am to 6.00 pm)
  • general government information - phone 13 23 24 (9.00 am to 5.00 pm)

Overseas callers - phone +61 8 8463 3490

Was this page useful?

What did you like about it?
How can we make it better?
We cannot respond to any comment made here. If you need a response, please use our contact page.

Page last updated 30 November 2016

Provided by:
Department of Planning, Transport and Infrastructure
Last Updated:
Printed on:
Copyright statement:
SA.GOV.AU is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia Licence. © Copyright 2016