About SA

South Australia is the southern, central state of mainland Australia. It borders all other mainland states and the Northern Territory and covers an area similar in size to Egypt, the Canadian state of Ontario, or the combined areas of France and Germany.

Its landscape varies from rugged outback wilderness and desert to scenic mountain ranges and a coastline that stretches more than 3,700 km. Likewise, its populated areas range from the cosmopolitan capital, Adelaide, to large regional centres and many quintessential outback Australian towns.

While English is the principal language, the state's population of over 1.7 million people is made up of over 200 ethnic communities.

      Page last updated: 10 January 2014